Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

North Stars & Barons History


Hockey is the backbone of many communities across Saskatchewan and the Battlefords is no exception. For more than 40 years the North Battleford Civic Centre has been home to junior hockey.

It all started in 1973-74 when Art Strueby, the first team president, and his board of directors created a franchise to join the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, which was started in 1968. At that time, the local team was named the Battlefords Barons. In the team’s first season they won just 10 of 50 games. The next season they improved their record to 31-26-1. The team colours were burgundy, gold and white and the roster featured many local players from the Battlefords and surrounding communities. A handful of those players went on to continue their hockey careers after junior hockey.

In 1983-84 the name was changed to the North Battleford North Stars and the logo resembled the Minnesota North Stars logo with the N and a star on top of the N on blue jerseys with white and red trim. The colours changed again for the 1990-91 season and three years later the logo changed to look similar to the Dallas Stars original logo.

Now, know as the Battlefords North Stars, the team takes pride in the black, silver and white uniforms and the STARS logo that represents hundreds of hockey players, a handful of team championship banner and endless memories.

Many players, staff members, board members, billets, fans and sponsors have help to create the tradition of junior hockey in the Battlefords and have help to maintain it as one of the most supported teams in the SJHL.

The North Stars franchise has three SJHL champion in team history and one Anavet Cup, which was the championship series featuring the winner of the SJHL and the Manitoba Junior Hockey League. The winner of the Anavet Cup also advanced to the RCB Cup.

The North Stars also pride themselves in helping to develop hockey players and people to move them on to their next journeys in life. The long list of alumni members have had several lengthy hockey careers at different levels, but for many this is where their hockey careers got started.



1999-00 Anavet Cup Champions


League Championships:

2018-2019 SJHL Canalta Cup Champions

2016-17 SJHL Canalta Cup Champions

1999-00 SJHL MemberCare Cup Champions



Regular Season Championships:

2019-2020 Global Ag Risk solutions Division Winners

2019-2020 League Pennant Winners

2018-2019 Global Ag Risk Solutions Division Winners

2017-18 Global Ag Risk Solutions Division Winners

2016-17 Olympic Building Division Winners

2015-16 League Pennant Winners

2015-16 Finning Division Winners

2013-14 Kramer Division Winners

2005-06 League Pennant Winners

2005-06 North Division Pennant Winners

2004-05 North Division Pennant Winners

1994-95 League Pennant Winners

1994-95 North Division Pennant Winners